Waszp and Wing Foiling Slalom States on Pittwater

Over the weekend Palm Beach Sailing Club hosted a fleet of 15 Waszps and 32 Wing Foilers for their Kiteboarding Australia Slalom State Championships. 

A number of our Centreboard Sailors competed and with their local knowledge of Pittwater took home the silver wear. 

In the Waszp fleet there were 10 participants from the local Royal Prince Alfred Yacht CLub with Louis Tilly taking out 1st place overall, on equal points with Keizo Tomishima from Woollahra Sailing Club. Although there was only a light to moderate seabreeze they completed a variation of slalom and downwind courses.

Over the two days 12 races were completed, there was a great showing from the masters, along with Belle Holdsworth taking out the first and only girls place.

Waszp Results:

  • Louis Tilly
  • Keizo Tomishima
  • Will Troop
  • Daniel Links
  • Jervis Tilly
  • Bella Holdsworth, 1st Female Sailor

The record amount of entrants in the wings made for awesome spectating along the shores of Palm Beach. 

For the first time in Australia we had 4 girls entered in the event, all ranging in abilities, it really highlights how accessible this sport is for everyone! The wind was slightly light for the wing foilers on Saturday, the race committee were persistent and managed to finish 5 Slalom races in tricky conditions. 

Luckily the seabreeze kicked harder for day 2 and they completed 2 slalom races and 2 downwind races. The variety in courses led to tight points on the scorecard, only 8 points separated 6th placed Ryan Wilmot to 2nd place Nic Anderson, but the overall win went to Dan Wilson from Wilson Windsports Coaching. 

This was only the first for many Wing events on the calendar this summer, see the link below for the rest of the dates. (https://www.kiteboardingaus.com.au/events/list/&cat=4509)

Wing Results:

  • Dan Wilson – Wilsonwindsports.com
  • Nic Anderson
  • Henry Myers
  • Gavin Blake
  • Will Sproule

Results can be found on the Palm Beach Sailing Club Facebook Group

Photo credits Dylan Clarke – Saltlab Productions