HARKEN International Youth Match Racing Championship – Welcomes back International Competition on Pittwater


The 2022 Harken International Youth Match Racing Championship will host the World’s best youth match racing talent, with competitors coming from across the globe including America, New Zealand, New Caledonia and a strong representation from across Australia. After a two-year absence from the International racing circuit, the Championship is shaping up to be the most hotly contested youth match racing event this year.
This year’s event is being managed by one of Australia’s best Match Racing Officials Team including a superb International and local line-up of Umpires.

With the host Club the Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club (RPAYC) receiving over 30 applicants this year it was a hard decision for the events management committee in selecting the 10 teams to compete. The teams selected sees a new generation of sailors participate together with a number of teams looking to etch their names into the Rockin’ Robin Perpetual Trophy joining a growing list of the world’s top sailors.

Top-ranked skipper Ethan Prieto-Low is representing the Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club who returns with two teams to race on Pittwater this week. Prieto-Low is currently ranked 101 in the World Sailing Match Racing Rankings.

Priesto-Low and his team are seasoned Matched Racers who won the JESS Match Cup earlier this year.
Prieto-Low is closely followed by RFBYC representative Marcello Torre, with a ranking of 187 reflecting his recent competition at the Governor’s Cup where he finished 9th in the Grade 2 event.

Across the ditch is growing talent Josh Hyde from the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron ranked 331 off the back of the Harken New Zealand Match Racing Nationals where he placed 3rd. Hyde has been steadily increasing his ranking over the year competing in numerous local open Match Racing Events.

Closer to home and one team to watch is Chelsea Williams representing the Cruising Yacht Club Australia and having recently returned from competing in the Women’s Open Worlds Match Racing Championship held in Auckland where her team placed 11th .

The other teams competing this week include brothers D’Arcy and Daniel Kemp representing the home club the Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club, Max Paul representing the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron, Brayden Hamilton representing the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron, Max Brennan returning to the Championship representing Balboa Yacht Club, and Kevin Le Dreau on behalf of Cercle Nautique Caledonien (New Caledonia).

Grant Pellew, Harken Managing Director Australasia has wished good luck to all competitors in the lead-up to the event. ‘Harken is proud of our involvement in this international event over the past 25 years, we believe youth sailing is one of the most important forms of our sport. We are heavily committed to youth sailing both here and overseas. The Harken family wish everyone taking part the best of luck in the regatta, may the best team win.’ – Grant Pellew, HARKEN Managing Director Australasia.

The event commences with official proceedings on Wednesday 16th November with racing to start November 17-20th at the Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club, Newport, Australia in the club’s freshly rejuvenate fleet of Elliott 7’s.

Visit the event website at www.intyouthmatchracingchampionship.com.au
Follow the result live on Twitter @rpayc or on https://www.matchracingresults.com/
#rpayc #harken #harken_Aus

2022 HARKEN International Youth Match Racing Championship Umpire Team:
• Chief Umpire: Ben Fels (International Umpire, AUS)
• John Rountree (International Umpire, NZL)
• Kohei Imazu (International Umpire, JPN)
• Katie Maxim (National Umpire, USA)
• Richard Slater (International Umpire, AUS)
• Robert Armstrong (National Umpire, AUS)
• Robyn Tames (State Umpire, AUS)
• Simon Barrington (State Umpire, AUS)

Full Competitor List in WS ranking order:
• Ethan Prieto-Low (AUS)
• Marcello Torre (AUS)
• Josh Hyde (NZL)
• Chelsea Williams (AUS)
• Max Paul (AUS)
• Brayden Hamilton (NZL)
• Max Brennan (USA)
• D’Arcy Kemp (AUS)
• Kevin le dreau (FRA)
• Daniel Kemp (AUS)



Brendan Rourke