RPAYC Sailors dominate the F16/F18 National Championships

Formula 16 Catamaran National titles in Eden

A number of RPAYC teams travelled to Eden with their Vipers to contend the 2024 Formula 16 National Title in a small but competitive 14 boat fleet. RPAYC teams dominated at the event with RPAYCs Emma Rankin and Beau White winning the National Titles for the third consecutive year. Certainly a first in Australian F16 history to score a hat-trick. Emma and Beau have been long time stalwarts of the Viper fleet at RPAYC, the many hours of training and tearing around on the foiling Viper (which they converted back to displacement “F16” mode for the event) certainly paid off.

The titles are a very hotly contested event. Rounding out the podium were Grant Pellew (RPA) and Lilly Smith (GLSC) in second and young new RPAYC member 12 year old Lewis Abbot skippered for James Henderson (MPSC) to bring home their Viper convertible in 3rd. A very well run event in a family friendly location completed 16 races in the 5 day regatta. (4 race days, 1 layday)

In the Solo category, RPAYC’s Angus Musgrove sailed consistently to take victory and relished the fantastic conditions and location that Eden offered the fleet to relegate Rob Saunders (Canberra Yacht Club) to second.

The growth in the formula 16 compliant Vipers at the club has been excellent this season. With such a competitive group of sailors training and racing regularly from the convenience of the Crystal Bay hardstand we have seen excellent results at club, state and national level from the group. The club has been pleased to welcome three new teams to RPAYC and the beautiful Pittwater this season in this exciting class of boats.

Club Sailing is held on most Sundays at RPAYC with the Viper and F18 fleet having a one design division.

Formula 18 Catamaran National Titles – Hervey Bay

The largest and premier performance catamaran class in the world the Formula 18 held its nationals in Queensland. 40 teams travelled from as far as Perth and as near as Bundaberg to contest the very coveted Formula 18 Australian National Title. The trophy features some of the giants in sailing such as Glen Ashby, Darren Bundock, Greg and Brett Goodall, Jason Waterhouse to name just a few.

RPAYC’s Iain Salteri offered his skippering spot up to Australian Youth Team sailor Archie Gargett so that Archie could team up with RPAYC’s Beau White to contest the title. Archie has been campaigning locally and internationally on the Nacra 17, but with a severe injury to his Nacra 17 crew Sarah Hoffman, meant Archie was available for the event. Beau and Archie went into overdrive to get practiced and prepare the Goodall Design C2 for national level competition.

After just missing out on victory at the NSW F18 state titles held in Mannering Park they tweaked the sails and settings with some assistance from Olympian John Forbes to prepare for the big week in Hervey Bay.

Lighter air and cool heads from the RPAYC boat resulted in Beau and Archie prevailing in the final two races to be crowned the Australian National Champions for 2024. They join those big names on a very prestigious trophy in the performance catamaran sailing world. Archie at the young age of 20 won the youth skipper award in addition.

An excellent result for our sailors, RPAYC is certainly fast emerging as a dominant performance catamaran club in Australia with RQYS in QLD and Nedlands in WA. RPAYC Club Sailing is held on most Sundays at RPAYC with the Viper and F18 fleet having a one design division.


Written by Beau White

Photo Credit Russel Witt and Beau White