Centreboard Club Championships Round 3 - Race Day Report

We had 20 boats join the fleet on the water in the Big Pond for Round 3 of the ZHIK Centreboard Club Championships on Sunday 3 December.

A few ILCAs, 5 Family Pacers, 1 Opti, some SKUD18’s, Waszps, Vipers and a Manly Junior, all set out in Little Pond to race in pleasant conditions with strong winds out of the southeast. Thankfully the early forecast of a possible storm didn’t eventuate.

Congratulations to Charlie Byford on Chocolate Factory in the ILCA 6’s and Brett Kimmorley on Imagine in the ILCA 7’s winning all 3 races. Several of the ILCA’S were in Adelaide for the World Masters and we look forward to hearing about those results.

In the Family Pacers it was great to have 5 starters. It was Katie and Chloe winning race 1 and Mark and Olivia taking out race 2. In race 3 it was a tight tussle throughout the race with Mark and Olivia winning race 3 with Katie and Chloe close behind. Well done to Nadine and Lara for finishing 3rd in each of the races. Well done to all competitors in this division, we look forward to seeing you all in the final round the Club Championships on the 17 March!

In the Vipers, it was great to see 5 boats registered. After a slow start it was Anthony Abbott on Mutiny who won the division winning races 2 and 3 followed by Simon Skoog on Ruel Rigging Australia. After the recent success of RPAYC Viper sailors at the F16 and F18 Nationals, it was great to see so many Vipers out on Pittwater. Read more about the success of RPAYC sailors at the Nationals HERE

In the Waszps we also had 5 starters and it was Will Troop on No Limits who was consistent throughout the day winning 2 races and finishing 2nd in the 3rd race taking out the division with Jervis Tilly in 2nd place.

In the Mixed Medium Handicap in the Skud 18’s, congratulations to Brett Stevenson on Callala winning all 3 races.

A big thanks to all our volunteers who jumped in and helped to ensure the smooth running of the day.

We break for a week with no Centreboard racing on Sunday 11 February.

Round 2 of the Summer Series continues on 18 February. If you haven’t registered for the Summer Series, please enter now!