NSW Sailing League – RPAYC teams qualify for NSW Final!

NSW Sailing League – RPAYC teams qualify for NSW Final!

The Metropolitan Qualifier for the NSW Sailing League took place on Saturday 18th March, with a full day of exciting qualifying racing and a 3-match final series!

The Sailing league format is tight windward/leeward racing on a very short course, allowing for some spectacularly close racing and plenty of overtaking opportunities! The race committee got 13 qualifying races underway in just a few hours, some of which featured exciting ‘downwind starts’. The downwind starts challenged the teams with making decisions for timing their approach to the start line and getting to the first gate with clear wind.

Daniel Kemp’s RPAYC team won the qualifying series, meaning they carried 1 race win into the ‘first to two wins’ final series. Jack Ferguson from Woollahra Sailing Club sailed two impressive races to get the better of their rivals to win two races and win the qualifier event overall.

The Woollahra Sailing Club team have earnt their place in the NSW Sailing League final, to be hosted by Newcastle Cruising Yacht Club in April. They will be joined by two teams from Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club (Daniel Kemp & Hugo Butterworth), and a team from Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron (Garth Bickford). The top 4 teams from that event will qualify for the Sailing League Asia-Pacific Final, which will take place at RPAYC in May 2023, attracting teams from all over Australia, New Zealand and Asia.