HARKEN International Youth Match Racing Championship – Day 1

HARKEN International Youth Match Racing Championship – Day 1


Day 1 of the Harken International Youth Match Racing Championship started the morning off as if it was a winter blizzard, not mid Summer. “Back home its 35 degrees today, we never get this type of weather,” said Feliphe Minier, Coach of the New Caledonia’s Cercle Nautique Calédonien  Team. 

Racing got underway on time with a 12-18knt SSE breeze already set in for the day. A with few puffs of 20knts catching some Teams off guard as they tussled towards the windward mark. 

With boats sprinting downwind in the conditions, some skippers clearly had remembered the morning briefing reminders on boat damages and were noticeably applying the breaks at the bottom mark roundings to avoid giving their competitors a potential nudge.

No teams have managed to hold on to a perfect score result with tight racing across the competition for the day.

8 Flights, 32 Matches a great day on Pittwater and everything to play for tomorrow.

That’s a wrap for today. 
Racing starts again at 1000hrs, Friday 18th November.

The event continues through to Sunday 17-20th at the Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club, Newport, Australia.

Visit the event website at www.intyouthmatchracingchampionship.com.au
Follow the result live on Twitter @RPAYCYouthMatch or at https://www.matchracingresults.com/
#rpayc #harken #harken_Aus

Full Competitor List 

  • Ethan Prieto-Low, Adam Brenz-Verca, Raff Torre, George Angus – Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club
  • Marcello Torre, Owen Ready, James Hackett, Nathan Gulliksen, Riley Evans – Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club
  • Josh Hyde, Jack Manning, Zach Fong, Cody Coughlan, Ryder Ellis – Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron
  • Chelsea Williams, Nick Drummond, Hugo Leeming, Hamish Vass, Audrey Scheu – Cruising Yacht Club of Australia
  • Max Paul, Zac West, Brooke Wilson, Jameson Prescott, Abigail Gilbert – Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron
  • Brayden Hamilton, Chloe Salthouse, Crue Ellis, Kahurangi Nepia, Luc Gladwell – Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron
  • Max Brennan, Peter Sangmeister, Morgan Pinckney, Mark Murray – Balboa Yacht Club
  • Kevin Le Dréau, Emmy Verge, Samuel Peyrard Obry, Esteban Guilbert, Achile Rozand – Cercle Nautique Caledonien
  • D’Arcy Kemp, Louis Tilly, Joshua Paulson, Hugo Butterworth, Annabelle Connery – Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club
  • Daniel Kemp, Charlie Verity, Lachlan Wallace, Hannah McCutcheon, Sophie Aitken – Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club

2022 HARKEN International Youth Match Racing Championship Umpire Team:
• Chief Umpire: Ben Fels (International Umpire, AUS)
• John Rountree (International Umpire, NZL)
• Kohei Imazu (International Umpire, JPN)
• Katie Maxim (National Umpire, USA)
• Richard Slater (International Umpire, AUS)
• Robert Armstrong (National Umpire, AUS)
• Robyn Tames (State Umpire, AUS)
• Simon Barrington (State Umpire, AUS)



Brendan Rourke