Barbarian - Sydney Hobart Classic Yacht Regatta

The Sydney Hobart Classic Yacht Regatta is a unique regatta that recognises the contribution of classic yachts to the traditions and history of the bluewater classic.

The event is open to any yacht that has a launch date prior to 1976 and has competed in a Sydney Hobart Yacht Race.

The second RPAYC entrant is Matthew Baxter’s (S&S) 39 ‘Barbarian’ which will be sailed by an all female team. 
Matthew Baxter has kindly lent his beautiful 1970 S&S 39 Barbarian to a crew of RPAYC women’s twilight regulars for the regatta.

In 1975, Barbarian was the first all-female entry in the Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race.

Lining up against a strong classic division this coming weekend, the all female crew of Nicole Butcher (skipper), Lisa Ratcliff, Evelyn Harves, Lisa Denvir, Annie Scholten, Lindy Hardcastle, Angelique Kear and Maike Muth will endeavour to do justice to this spectacular yacht’s history.

Read up on more amazing history and photos of barbarian with thanks to website ‘Boat Genealogy’ HERE.

Racing for the Classic Yacht Regatta starts with a non-pointscore Invitation Race (Scratch) on Friday 10 December in the afternoon ahead of Race 1 (Pursuit) Saturday 11 December followed by Race 2 (Scratch) Sunday 12 December.

Click HERE to view the entrant list and follow the racing.