

2023 AUSTRALIAN OCEAN RACING CHAMPIONSHIP

NOTICE OF INAUGRAL SERIES (1st January – 31st December 2023)

1. PREAMBLE

The Australian Ocean Racing Championship (AORC) is designed to bring offshore racing enthusiasts from around Australia together in a Series based on the classic offshore race courses around the country. Results from these races conducted throughout 2023, will be brought together under this Notice of Series. The competition format was proposed by Tony Ellis; Tony has sailed in 53 Hobart races, numerous Admirals Cups, Kenwood Cups, Congressional Cups, Americas Cup and Australian Olympic trials. Tony has been a key crew member of Ragamuffin and No Limit campaigns to name just a couple.

The basis of this competition is to encourage diversity of both race courses and competition, and is designed to give yacht owners as much flexibility to race and enjoy their yachts while being part of an Australia- NZ wide competition

2. ORGANISING AUTHORITY

2.1. The Organising Authority is the Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club (RPAYC) in conjunction with Ocean Racing Club Victoria and Newcastle Cruising Yacht Club.

3. ELIGIBILITY & ENTRY (RACES)

- 3.1. The Series is open to Two-Handed and fully crewed boats (See NoR for of each race for full eligibility).
- 3.2. A boat shall enter and meet the eligibility and entry requirements in accordance with Notice of Race for each race.
- 3.3. It is the sole discretion of each Race Organiser as to whether an entry is excepted.

4. ENTRY (AORC)

4.1. Entries for the for the 2023 Australian Ocean Racing Championship will be taken from eligible boats entered in the nominated races. Results shall be submitted to Nick Elliott at the RPAYC (<u>Nick.Elliott@rpayc.com.au</u>).

Event	Date	Distance	Points Factor	Organising Authority							
PART 1 RACES											
Bunbury and Return Ocean Race	11/02/2023	170	0.80	RFBYC							
Adelaide to Port Lincoln Yacht Race	17/02/2023	170	0.80	PLYC							
Cape Naturaliste and Return Race	Mar 2023	200	0.85	RFBYC							
Melbourne to King Island Ocean Race	10/03/2023	114	0.80	ORCV							
Pittwater to Coffs Harbour Yacht Race	31/03/2023	230	0.85	RPAYC							
Brisbane to Gladstone Race	07/04/2023	308	0.90	QCYC							
Melbourne to Port Fairy Yacht Race	07/04/2023	135	0.80	ORCV							
Fremantle to Exmouth Race	06/05/2023	700	1.00	FSC							
ТВА		380	0.90								
Brisbane to Hamilton Island Yacht Race	04/08/2023	530	0.95	RQYS							
Sydney to Auckland Race	07/10/2023	1250	1.00	RPAYC							
Melbourne to Devonport Race (Rudder Cup)	03/11/2023	195	0.85	ORCV							
Tasports Maria Island Race	Nov 2023	200	0.85	RYCT							
Haystack Island Race	Nov 2023	200	0.85	RSAYS							
The West Coaster	Nov 2023	150	0.80	FSC							
The Hunter Blue Water Classic Yacht Race	01/12/2023	110	0.80	NCYC							
ТВА		185	0.85								
PART 2 RACES											
ТВА		600	1.10								
Melbourne to Hobart Race (Westcoaster)	27/12/2023	435	0.90	ORCV							
Prize Giving (TBA)	Jan 2024										

5. SCHEDULE OF RACES 2023

6. SCORING

- 6.1. The Cox Sprague High Point Scoring System as below shall be used.
- 6.2. The boats position in Overall results under the primary rating system of the race (IRC, ORC or AMS), after any penalties, shall be applied to the Cox Sprague High Point Scoring System, see NoS 7, multiplied by the race points factor, see table in NoS 5. Schedule of Races 2023, to produce the points for the race.
- 6.3. The total of a boats highest 3 race scores in any combination of the nominated Part 1 Races, plus only 1 Part 2 Race result.
- 6.4. Boats will rank by score; highest to lowest. The boat with the highest series score shall be ranked 1st and so on.

	Number of Competitors																
Place	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	13	14	15	16	17	18	19	20 +
1	48	54	60	66	72	76	80	84	87	90	92	94	96	97	98	99	100
2	44	48	54	60	66	70	74	78	81	84	86	88	90	91	92	93	94
3	41	44	50	56	62	66	70	74	77	80	82	84	86	87	88	89	90
4	38	41	46	52	58	62	66	70	73	76	78	80	82	83	84	85	86
5		38	43	49	55	59	63	67	70	73	75	77	79	80	81	82	83
6			40	46	52	56	60	64	67	70	72	74	76	77	78	79	80
7				44	50	54	58	62	65	68	70	72	74	75	76	77	78
8					48	52	56	60	63	66	68	70	72	73	74	75	76
9						50	54	58	61	64	66	68	70	71	72	73	74
10							52	56	59	62	64	66	68	69	70	71	72
11								54	57	60	62	64	66	67	68	69	70
12									55	58	60	62	64	65	66	67	68
13										56	58	60	62	63	64	65	66
14											57	59	61	62	63	64	65
15												58	60	61	62	63	64
16													59	60	61	62	63
17														59	60	61	62
18															59	60	61
19																59	60
20																	59
21 -38	reduced by 0.5 points													58.5			
39-131	reduced by 0.3 points													49.7			
132+	flat 20 points												20				
	DNF / RET / DSQ / DNE / NSC												10				
	DNC																0

7. COX SPRAGUE HIGH POINT SCORING SYSTEM

8. TROPHIES & PRIZES

- 8.1. 1st Overall will receive the Australian Ocean Racing Championship Trophy,
- 8.2. Trophies may be awarded for 2nd and 3rd Overall.
- 8.3. Further prizes may be awarded at the discretion of the organising Authority.

APPENDIX A – FOR RACE ORGANISERS

A1. NOMINATED RACES

- A1.1. A Club organising an offshore or ocean race may nominate the race or races for consideration by the Organising Committee.
- A1.2. To be considered, a race shall meet the following minimum requirements:
 - A1.2.1. Organised by a club affiliated to Australian Sailing;

A1.2.2. Be conducted in accordance with the RRS and Australian Sailing Special Regulations Category 1-3;

A1.2.3. Be a minimum of 100nm;

A1.2.4. Include ORC, IRC or AMS Scoring Overall.

- A1.3. Race organisers wishing to nominate race(s) within their area/region/state shall submit the details of the race to the Organising Authority for consideration prior to 1st December 2022.
- A1.4. Races may be added to the series where they meet the criteria of Appendix A; are in a region that is not well represented by NoS 5. Schedule of Races 2023 or the Organising Authority considers will enhance the series.
- A1.5. The nominated races, to date of issue of Notice of Series, for 2023 are listed in NoS 5. Schedule of Races.