16 Mitala Street, Newport NSW 2106   Tel: 61 2 9998 3700


16 Mitala Street, Newport NSW 2106
Tel: 61 2 9998 3700

2019 David Lukins Champions

The 2019 David Lukins Memorial regatta once again saw some of the RPAYC’s best sailors assemble for what has become one of the most sought-after trophies in the club, the David Lukins Memorial Trophy.

The regatta is run in memory of the late David Lukins, who was a tireless volunteer and well-respected member at the Alfred’s during his long association with the club.

The ages of the competitors competing this year ranged from 15 through to 60, where nine teams competed in this two-day match racing event run in the club’s fleet of Elliott 7 keelboats.

After the completion of the round robin, the points were tight, with the top 4 spots hotly contested.

Murray Gordon (TEAM FOMO), managed to only lose one race in the round robin, to finish as top placed competitor. He chose Pat Langley (TEAM VAIKOBI) to verse, which was a surprising choice as Langley had finished 2nd behind Gordon in the round robin.

Malcolm Parker (TEAM Better late then never) and Nick “Chewbacca” Garland (TEAM HARKEN) filled up the other two semi-final berths.

Langley managed to surprise Gordon, who was the regatta favourite going into this competition having won this event twice previously.

Garland also managed to do a great job with both boat handling and speed to proceed to the finals, defeating Parker in the process.

The finals saw Nick Garland take the first race with a convincing win over Pat Langley.

The second race saw an aggressive prestart with the umpires penalising Langley for not keeping clear.

Langley however managed to keep control off the start line to lead around the course. By the final downwind Langley had amassed enough of a lead to undertake his penalty turn prior to finishing...or so he thought!

Disaster struck for Langley when he was unable to complete the penalty turn due to the spinnaker not being lowered below the boom (a requirement when match racing). Frustration was evident on Langley’s team as Garland sailed on by to steal the win in Steven Bradbury style.

For what would be the final race, disaster struck for Langley, who was unaware the start sequence had started for the best race. Langley was changing the spinnaker over to the other side of the boat, when suddenly Garland came and started to attack. Langley copped a penalty for not entering, and to add further insult to injury, damage to the Elliott’s steering system saw Langley have to reluctantly throw in the towel.

As a formality, Nick Garland and his team of Julian Plante, Ian McKillop & Grant Pellew had to complete the course on their lonesome.

On the final leg for the finish, it was clear that this was a very important win for Garland and his team with both Nick and team principle Grant Pellew both visibly emotional.

The team crossed the line to take the finals 3-0 in front of a large spectator fleet, which included members of the Lukins Family.


Commodore Michael Lockley thanked the large contingent of volunteers of umpires and race management who made this event possible.

David’s daughter Kylie was then invited up to present the beautiful Trophy in honour of her Father.

On receiving the Trophy, a clearly overwhelmed Garland had the following things to say “Out of all the sailing achievements I have had, nothing means more to me than being able to get my name on this trophy. David Lukins, was a very special person. He selflessly did so much for the sport of sailing, this club and personally for myself and other young sailors, through the youth development program”

“My team describes me like a bad owner driver, and they are probably right” joked Garland.

“I can’t thank them (my team) enough. I’ve been bridesmaid so many times before, reaching the semis and not progressing any further. Now we have done it!”


Full placings below:

1st Place Nick Garland (TEAM HARKEN) Julian Plante, Ian McKillop, Grant Pellew

2nd Place Pat Langley (TEAM VAIKOBI) Trent Barnabas, Paul Gudmunson & Pete Winter

3rd Place Murray Gordon (TEAM FOMO) Shane Lukins, Billy Sykes & James Catts

4th Place Malcolm Parker (TEAM Better Late Than Never)

5th Place Alistair Read (TEAM YD BLUE)

6th Place James Farquharson (TEAM GRAND V)

7th Place Chris Way (TEAM EASY TIGER)

8th Place Craig Souter (TEAM COCO)

9th Place Juliet Costanzo (TEAM YD RED)



  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Prev Next

2019 RPAYC Member Survey

11 Oct 2019

An invitation to participate in RPAYC's 5th biennial member survey will be emailed to all RPAYC members, over the age of 18, on Monday 14 October 2019 by independent research company, Taverner Research. The...

Read more

Long Weekend Trading Hours

01 Oct 2019

Reception & Tender ServiceSaturday: 0800 - 1700 Sunday: 0800 - 1800 Monday: 0800 - 1800 Bar Trading Hours  Saturday: 0800 - 1900 Sunday: 0800 - 1930 Monday: 0800 - 1800 Bistro Trading Hours  Saturday: 0800 - 1500 Sunday: 0800...

Read more

RPAYC 2nd & 3rd in Inaugural Thirkell Trophy

01 Oct 2019

Newcastle Cruising Yacht Club held their Inaugural “Thirkell Trophy” over the weekend. This under 23 Youth Match Racing Regatta was run in the clubs recently purchased second hand fleet of...

Read more

2019 David Lukins Champions

24 Sep 2019

The 2019 David Lukins Memorial regatta once again saw some of the RPAYC’s best sailors assemble for what has become one of the most sought-after trophies in the club, the...

Read more

Women's Twilight Series - Entries Open

23 Sep 2019

The sailing office is now taking entries for the Women’s Twilight Series which starts October 29 and finishes March 23, 2020.With new fleet captains Nicole Butcher, Evelyn Curtis and Lisa...

Read more

2019 David Lukins MR Regatta - This Weekend

20 Sep 2019

The 2019 David Lukins Match Racing Regatta gets underway this weekend, run out of the Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club.The regatta is run in memory of the late David Lukins...

Read more

Sydney to Auckland Ocean Race 2021: Centrepiece of major summer international events

13 Sep 2019

MEDIA RELEASE                                                                                         12 September, 2019 To start on Sydney Harbour at 1pm on 30 January 2021, the inaugural Sydney to Auckland Ocean Race 2021, organised by the Royal Prince Alfred Yacht...

Read more

2019 Laser 4.7 World Youth Championships – Kingston, Ontario, Canada

10 Sep 2019

What an experience Canada was. A trip filled with learning, hard racing and good times. As we arrived in Kingston I was filled with excitement and some expected nerves as it...

Read more

2019 John Messenger Women’s Match Racing Regatta - Costanzo 2nd Place

10 Sep 2019

CYCA triumphs at John Messenger Women’s Match Racing RegattaJess Tavener, Emma Byrne, India Howard (skipper), Angelique Kear, Jess Grimes and Peter Messenger (Messenger family representative). Credit - CYCAThe Cruising Yacht...

Read more


The Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club - RPAYC is a yacht racing and sailing club based on Pittwater.

The yacht club offers year round inshore and offshore racing, cruising, centreboard dinghy racing, sail training and courses plus has a large marina accommodating up to 352 vessels.

There is also a modern boatyard with comprehensive marine services to help maintain your vessel.

Membership, including family membership is now available.

Upcoming Events

Sign Up for News

Register here to receive the latest information on news and events at the Club
Please wait

Weather Links

Check the latest conditions:

Welcome to RPAYC